Ready to Tri

When I see open water, I just want to get in and swim

When I see open water, I just want to get in and swim

Tomorrow I’ll be competing in my first triathlon in a year. I should be packing up my gear right now, but I’m having a hard time getting focused. It took me almost an hour to finish making my coffee this morning. There are nerves and excitement – mostly excitement.

I’ve never adequately prepared to be competitive in a triathlon (this year is no different), but I love the incentive to cross-train and to push myself to improve in something I wouldn’t have considered trying even a few years ago. When I started training for my first triathlon swimming the length of a 25-yard pool was an accomplishment. Now, I bring along my swim gear anytime I’ll be close to open water.

Tomorrow’s tri (the Acworth Women’s Sprint Tri) will be special because I’ll be sharing the experience with my friend Amanda (swimming in front of me – as usual – in the photo above) as she completes her first triathlon. I can’t say how much I’ve enjoyed sharing her progress over the past few months, and watching her embrace this challenge. We’re furiously texting back and forth today as we make last-minute preparations and plans. In a few hours we’ll be driving the course, picking up a few last-minute supplies, enjoying a carb-loaded dinner, then settling in for the night.

By this time tomorrow we’ll be celebrating her hard work and accomplishment. I can’t wait.

This entry was posted in Cycling, Life in General, Running, Swimming, training, triathlon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready to Tri

  1. cynthia says:

    I hope it was fun, Susan! Back in 2002 and 2003, I did four sprint triathlons. People would ask me which sport was my favorite–none of them : ) Ha. But what fun competitions with everyone cheering everyone.

Leave a Reply

