A Small Taste of Paris

Avocado, Mushroom and Sweet Onion Salad

Avocado, Mushroom and Sweet Onion Salad

One of the things I really enjoy about my trips to Paris is the food – and when I manage to get there in the springtime I take advantage of almost every opportunity to eat the avocados that feature so prominently on the local menus. I’m used to avocados as a small part of a dish, but not the main feature (unless you count guacamole, which I consider an accompaniment).

I’ll never forget the first time I had an avocado salad at a restaurant near my office. Beautiful ripe avocados in a creamy (but still somehow light) vinaigrette. It was a bit of heaven on a plate.

Ever since I’ve played around with dressings, trying to create something that will come close to what I experienced there. Last week I put together a nice (very simple) blue-cheese vinaigrette. While it’s not quite the dressing that was used on my first avocado salad in Paris, the blue cheese added some of the creaminess I was looking for. There were also some nice sweet onions at the grocery, so I decided to add them as well as fresh mushrooms. The combination of textures (soft, ripe avocado, firm mushrooms and crisp onion slices) was terrific, and the vinaigrette pulled the flavors together really well.

Use the recipe below as a guide, but as it’s just a salad anything can be adjusted (ingredients, proportions, you name it) however you like.

Blue Cheese Vinaigrette

Combine:

  • 1/3 c. cider vinegar (preferably unfiltered)
  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp. dijon mustard

Gradually whisk in:

  • 2/3 c. good quality olive oil

Stir in:

  • 1/4 c. crumbled blue cheese
  • salt, pepper to taste

Avocado, Mushroom, and Sweet Onion Salad

Combine in a medium bowl:

  • 2 ripe avocados, cubed and tossed in about 1 Tbsp. of fresh lemon juice
  • 1 medium (or 1/2 large) sweet onion, sliced thin
  • 1 cup sliced crimini mushrooms

Drizzle with blue cheese vinaigrette before serving

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Recipes, salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Small Taste of Paris

  1. cynthia says:

    Looks delicious–printing it out to try-thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

