Edamame Hummus (aka rescuing an otherwise rotten afternoon)

Edamame Hummus

Some days wear me down more than others. On those days (like today) I try to find something to reenergize myself before others have to deal with me. On particularly tough days (like today), I turn to a never-fail combination: some of my favorite music cranked up high, a glass (or two) of good red wine, and dancing in my kitchen while I create something I crave.

I’ve intended to make tahini for a while (it’s so easy, and I’m not sure why I’ve not done it yet), and as long as my Vitamix was being used it only made sense to take care of some of the cleanup by mixing up a batch of hummus. (It makes so much more sense to make use of hard-to-scoop-out ingredients than to wash an extra container.)

For the tahini, I bought unhulled raw sesame seeds in bulk, toasted them in a skillet, put them in my Vitamix and blended on high until it was smooth (about 2 minutes). I scooped out most of it, then added the other ingredients. The wonderful thing about dips (as opposed to baked goods) is that you can adjust them however you like – add more of what tastes good, or what will make the texture more to your choosing.  I love tahini, so the recipe tastes more strongly of that than the edamame. Use less if you prefer. I also love the brightness of lemon juice (which I find tempers the other ingredients) – but you can use more or less as you like. Add extra oil (or water) if you want it less thick. Put in a touch of red pepper if you want to spice it up – the variations are quite literally endless.  That said, this is what I used for my hummus (it works well in a high powered blender, but a food processor would work well too):

  •  about 1/3 cup tahini (make your own and just leave some in your blender container, or use store-bought) – if you’re not sure, use less and add more to taste at the end
  • 2 cups cooked edamame (I buy frozen edamame which cooks up easily in a few minutes)
  • 2/3 c. lemon juice
  • 1/4 c. good quality olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. water
  • 1-2 cloves garlic (granulated garlic works well too)
  • t tsp. kosher or sea salt
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin

Blend until smooth, adjust to taste.

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Life in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

