A Recovery, Photographed

One of the things I enjoy most about running is exploring new places, or seeing something new somewhere I’ve been dozens or even hundreds of times. I can run past the same stretch of road every week, but at a different time of day or as the seasons change, there is always something new to see. At least I’ve always thought that was true.

This conviction (as well as my long-standing determination to focus on the positive, even during tough times)  was put to the test over the past few months when I was restricted to running pretty much the same (short) route while allowing my thoroughly pissed-off achilles to settle down and forgive me. This effort proved to be just what I needed as I put in run after run over the same terrain (with just a couple of breaks for travel).

What follows is a journal of hurt and recovery, tracked through the photos I took on my runs. With the exception of two trips out of town, all of the photos were taken on the same two miles or so of paths and trails around the park near my home.

A reminder to myself to be patient and thankful.

Keeping focused on the long-game: A reminder to myself to be patient and thankful.

Loops around the lake on a gray winter morning

Loops around the lake on a gray winter morning

I'm always drawn to the water - the harbor front seemed like the safest running route on a trip to Baltimore.

I’m always drawn to the water – the harbor front seemed like the safest running route on a trip to Baltimore.

I'd hoped to track down several murals during my Baltimore runs, but was happy to stumble across this during a run along the Baltimore waterfront.

I’d hoped to track down several murals during my Baltimore runs, but was happy to stumble across this during a run along the Baltimore waterfront.

Honoring the winter solstice and longer, better days to come with a run around the Active Oval at Piedmont Park

Honoring the winter solstice and longer, better days to come with a run around the Active Oval at Piedmont Park

Christmas Eve run between rainstorms

Christmas Eve run between rainstorms

Home for Christmas - I put in all of my runs on the local high school track.

Home for Christmas – I put in all of my runs on the local high school track

My father … patiently waiting as I ran 7 miles on the track. It brought a smile to my face on every lap as I saw his car.

My father … patiently waiting as I ran 7 miles on the track. It brought a smile to my face on every lap as I saw his car.

I love running through this old graveyard when I'm home - this year I could only admire it from the track, but it was still a good view.

I love running through this old graveyard when I’m home – this year I could only admire it from the track, but it was still a good view.

Rainy Trail

Back in Atlanta after the holidays, a soft muddy path through the park after a winter rain

Still enjoying the skyline will (quite literally) running in circles around the park.

Still enjoying the skyline will (quite literally) running in circles around the park.

Park Gate

A milestone: shedding layers on the Active Oval in sub-freezing temps while doing m first speed work in months.

A milestone: shedding layers on the Active Oval in sub-freezing temps while doing m first speed work in months.

Sunny afternoon loops around the lake

Sunny afternoon loops around the lake

Back on the Active Oval as the fog descends on a mid-January afternoon

Back on the Active Oval as the fog descends on a mid-January afternoon

Sunset on the Active Oval

Sunset on the Active Oval

More cold and rain, but happy for speed-work on the active oval to warm me up.

More cold and rain, but happy for speed-work on the active oval to warm me up.

Sunny Sunday afternoon Warm January Days

Finally, after two months, a pain-free sunset run around the lake.

Finally, after two months, a pain-free sunset run around the lake.

Another reminder as I hit the water for a pool-run

Another reminder as I hit the water for a pool-run

Finally my patience is rewarded … I'm set free of the Park and allowed to run on Atlanta's Beltline Trail.

Finally my patience is rewarded … I’m set free of the Park and allowed to run on Atlanta’s Beltline Trail.

And two weeks later, I'm given a little more freedom, and permission to do a long run on the Silver Comet Trail.

And two weeks later, I’m given a little more freedom, and permission to do a long run on the Silver Comet Trail.

This entry was posted in Injury, Life in General, Marathon, Photography, Running, training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

