Simple Grilled Asparagus with Lemon Caper Sauce

Grilled Asparagus with Lemon Caper Sauce

Asparagus is one of my first choices when I’m looking for a quick, healthy side-dish. My favorite preparation is simply tossed with balsamic and soy sauce, then roasted for a few minutes in the oven. That’s great for fall and winter, but in Atlanta in the summer I avoid turning on the oven whenever possible. I’ve been grilling a lot lately and have tried cooking asparagus this way on the grill – wrapped up in foil packets – but it’s too easy to over-cook and I can never quite manage to keep the sauce from leaking out of the foil.

Tonight I decided to try something different, and terrifically simple. I just tossed the asparagus (rinsed and ends trimmed) in a drizzle of olive oil, kosher salt, and pepper. While I was grilling bison burgers, I spread out the spears horizontally across the grate and cooked them for about 6 minutes, turning them a few times so that they cooked evenly.

I know I should enjoy the taste of fresh green vegetables on their own, but I really wanted a nice sauce to go with the asparagus. I like mayonnaise-based sauces, but have learned that adding just a little bit of mayonnaise to plain yogurt and a few other ingredients results in a good – much healthier – sauce. I looked around my fridge and stirred this together (with enough left over for tomorrow night’s dinner):

  • 2 Tablespoons low-fat (or non-fat) plain yogurt – preferably greek yogurt, since it is thicker.
  • 1 Tablespoon mayonnaise
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 Tablespoons capers, minced – I don’t drain mine very carefully because I wanted some of the salty, vinegary taste from the brine in the sauce

Stir the ingredients together, then serve over asparagus or any green vegetable.

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Side Dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

