Glazed Apples with Bourbon and Ginger

Last fall I had dinner at Busboys and Poets in Washington DC, where I enjoyed a terrific cocktail made with hot apple cider, bourbon and ginger-infused syrup. When I came home, I created my own take on that cocktail and it became one of my favorite cold-weather treats.

The other night, the temperature dropped and I was thinking about that cocktail as I prepared dinner. This was on my mind as I tried to come up with a new, simple side-dish to have with my dinner. I had fresh local apples and just tossed them in lemon juice, cooked them on the stove-top in a little olive oil with honey, cinnamon, bourbon, and ginger liqueur.  Once the liquid had reduced, the apples were starting to get soft and coated in a thick, tasty glaze.

In a heavy-bottomed skillet, heat over medium heat until shimmering:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil

Carefully add to the pan, being careful of spatter from the juice:

  • 2 apples, cored, sliced about 1/4-inch thick and then slices cut into thirds, tossed in:
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice

Cook over medium heat for 2-3 minutes until the apples start to brown a bit, then add to the pan:

  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1/4 cup good-quality bourbon (I like Buffalo Trace)
  • 1/4 cup ginger liqueur (I use Domaine de Canton; you substitute another liqueur, but I’d suggest something sweet so you wind up with a caramelized sauce)

Cook for 10-15 minutes, until the liquid is thick and reduced to a syrup and the apples are just starting to get soft.

This entry was posted in Side Dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

