Beet and Mango Black Bean Salad

I was looking for an easy side-dish to make with my dinner tonight that was a bit of a change of pace.  I had some fresh beets in my refrigerator, and while I love steamed beets I wanted something different and more interesting. Then I remembered that I had purchased two small golden mangoes at Whole Foods on Sunday morning. I cut up the mango, and just put together some steamed beets, fresh mango and a little bit of fresh feta. The sweet and salty combination was perfect.

That got me thinking about how I could combine this into a good salad. I settled on black beans as a source of protein (I thought about wheat berries and garbanzo beans also – either would work fine), and a simple citrus vinaigrette. On Saturday I planted a big pot of fresh mint on my patio.  I decided to use a little bit of that to brighten up the flavor in the salad. and then added toasted pepitas for some crunch (nuts would be good, too). The combination of flavors and textures work really well together – it should make a good lunch for me tomorrow.

Combine in a medium bowl:

  • 1 15-ounce can black beans (preferably organic)
  • 2 medium beats, steamed until tender, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 2 small, ripe golden mangos (or one large ripe red mango), cut into 1/2 inch cubes. (This link shows how to peel and cut up a mango if you’ve not done so before – they can get pretty slippery, which makes it dangerous working with a sharp knife if you’re not careful.)

Toss with dressing:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon and/or lime juice (I used a combination of both)
  • 2 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar (preferably unfiltered)
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. orange juice

Gently stir in:

  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh mint (or more to taste)
  • 1/4 cup toasted pepitas or nuts
  • 3  ounce crumbled feta cheese


This entry was posted in Beets, Black Beans, salsa and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

