Stir-Fry Shrimp, Mushrooms and Asparagus with Ginger-Soy Sauce

Tonight’s dinner was not at-all what I expected to make. I’ve been in the mood for pasta, and had planned to make a nice vodka-tomato sauce that I’d serve over pasta with mushrooms, shrimp, and feta (I’ll still do that one day). As they day wore on (and heated up) a heavy tomato sauce didn’t sound as good, so I was left to wonder what I would do with the wild-caught shrimp I’d bought this morning. I wound up chatting with a friend online and she mentioned that she’d made stir-fry for dinner with lots of vegetables, and that got me thinking about what else I had on-hand.

I decided that I could stick with shrimp and mushrooms, then use the asparagus that I had in my fridge to add a crunchy vegetable. I don’t make stir-fries very often, so I’m not used to putting together a sauce for it. I did a search of my blog and found a really light citrus sauce, and then a heavier soy and rice vinegar sauce. I knew I needed something a little stronger than the citrus sauce to stand up to the mushrooms and asparagus, but didn’t want something as heavily soy-based as the second sauce that I’d previously written about. I wound up drawing some elements from both, then adjusting the recipe to taste as I went along. I wound up with a spicy-salty-sweet sauce that matched the other ingredients pretty well. This could easily be served over rice, but since I was in the mood for pasta I served it over brown-rice spaghetti.

For the stir-fry sauce whisk together a small bowl:

  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup (unseasoned) rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. sesame oil
  • 2 Tbsp. orange juice
  • 2 Tbsp. honey
  • 1-2 tsp. chili sauce (I used 2 tsp. and my stir-fry was pretty spicy)

Use a little of this sauce to stir into about 1/4 cup of cornstarch in a small bowl and set aside to thicken the sauce. (Use just enough sauce so that you can stir up the cornstarch into a liquid without any lumps.)

In a large non-stick skillet or wok, heat over medium-high heat until shimmering:

  • 1-2 tsp. olive oil (I used garlic-chili infused olive oil, but plain olive oil would be fine also)

Add to the pan:

  • 3 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. minced fresh ginger

Cook stirring constantly to be sure the garlic and ginger don’t burn for 2-3 minutes.  Add to the pan:

  • About one-fourth of the sauce.

The amount of liquid that you add during cooking doesn’t have to be exact. The idea is that you want to keep liquid in the pan. I added it gradually and allowed it to cook down and thicken a bit before adding more so that I could minimize the amount of corn-starch I added at the end to thicken the sauce. Continue to cook for 2-3 minutes then add:

  • 1 pound cremini mushrooms, halved or quartered depending on size and your preference.

Cook for 3-4 minutes, stirring frequently, and add more sauce as it cooks off. Then add to the pan:

  • 1/2 pound asparagus, ends trimmed and cut into 2-inch pieces.

Cook for another 4-5 minutes, stirring frequently, again adding more sauce as needed. Add the remaining sauce, then stir in several tablespoons of the cornstarch mixture and then simmer for a minute or two to thicken. If the sauce is not thick enough (according to your taste) stir in a bit more of the cornstarch mixture. Make sure to simmer for a bit between additions to allow the sauce to thicken. Once the sauce is as thick as you want it, add to the pan:

  • 8 ounces peeled and deveined shrimp (preferably large and wild-caught)

Cook until the shrimp is just cooked through (the time will vary depending on the size of the shrimp). Serve over rice or pasta, cooked according to package directions.

This entry was posted in Seafood, Shrimp and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

