Slow-Cooker Bison Roast

I bought a bison roast at Whole Foods on Sunday, and decided to try cooking it in the crockpot. I was motivated, in part, because I wanted to try making enchiladas and figured that cooking the roast in the crockpot would yield tender meat for them. My choice of ingredients reflected this. Instead of using red wine as a cooking liquid I used a bottle of beer. (A nice dark Mexican beer would have been good, but all I had on-hand was an IPA.) I kept the spices simple – salt, pepper, cumin and chili powder. I used chipotle chili powder to give a little kick, but any type of chili powder would be fine.

The key is to cook the bison on the low setting for as long as you can. I like to start it on high for 30 minutes or an hour just to get the heat up quickly, but this is optional.  When I took the roast out of the slow cooker it held together enough to pull it out in (mostly) one piece, but was fork-tender and delicious.

If I was serving it on its own, I would have added carrots, potatoes, and other root vegetables while cooking, and maybe thickened the cooking broth with a little flour to make a nice gravy for serving .

I used some of the meat already to make my enchiladas. I expect I’ll freeze some of the leftover meat, but I also have plans for some of the leftovers that I hope to try out later this week.

Either spray a slow-cooker with cooking spray or use a slow-cooker liner bag (which I love – it makes cleanup much easier). Place in the slow cooker:

  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 2.5 pound bison roast (I bought a shoulder roast at Whole Foods)
  • sprinkle with salt and pepper to coat
  • 1 tsp. chili powder (I used chipotle chili powder)
  • 2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 12-ounce bottle of beer (I used Sweetwater IPA, but would use a Mexican beer if I had one in the house)

Cover and cook on high for 30-60 minutes. Reduce heat to low and cook for 8-12 hours. Remove and serve, or pull apart for another use.

This entry was posted in Bison and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow-Cooker Bison Roast

  1. Pingback: Bison Enchiladas with Two Sauces | susanlaury

Leave a Reply

