Hot Quinoa Breakfast Cereal

After over a year of focusing on a healthier lifestyle, I’m no longer tempted to head out the door without eating a good breakfast. But I’m a creature of habit (especially in the morning) so almost every day I eat the same thing – a multigrain English muffin with peanut butter and a drizzle of local honey. Recently I decided to switch things up and make myself a hot breakfast cereal. I wanted more protein than I’d get with oatmeal, so I turned to quinoa. My first attempt was okay, but I loaded it up with raisins and dried cranberries and it ended up too sweet for my taste. Today I tried again – I kept it simple and was much happier with the result.

I cooked the quinoa in apple juice (instead of water) along with a cinnamon stick. When I was done I topped it with sliced banana and a drizzle of local honey. Since I used apple juice to cook the quinoa it was already sweet enough, but I like the flavor of honey (especially when paired with banana) and try to have at least a little local honey every day for my allergies. It can easily be omitted from the recipe.

Combine in a small saucepan:

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup apple juice or apple cider
  • 1 3-inch cinnamon stick.

Bring to a boil, then cover with a tight-fitting lid and reduce heat to low. Simmer until all of the liquid has been absorbed – about 25-30 minutes. Serve with bananas or other fresh fruit. Drizzle with honey if desired.

This entry was posted in Quinoa and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

