Tequila Marinated Bison Flank Steak with Tomatillo Sauce

Image

After several week away from home, I was ready today to spend some time in the kitchen. I’m also fighting a cold, so I found myself craving warm comfort food. Like I often do in the winter, I turn to Latin flavors when I want to feel a little more warm in my home. This is similar to other dishes that I’ve made (and blogged) – but instead of beef or chicken I used a bison flank steak, and used tequila to tie together the meat (via the marinade) and the sauce. This is the first time I’ve used tequila in a tomatillo sauce, but I like the smokey flavor that my reposed tequila added to the sauce.

This recipe makes more sauce than you’ll need – I like to make extra then freeze it in a ziplock bag for future use.

Earlier today, I marinated the flank steak in a ziplock bag:

  • 1/2 cup margarita mix
  • 1/2 cup good-quality (but not great) tequila – I used Hornitos reposado tequila
  • 1 pound flank steak

Place in the fridge for several hours, then remove shortly before grilling.

In the meantime, to prepare the tomatillo sauce, pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. Place on a foil-lined rimmed baking sheet:

  • 2 poblano peppers
  • 1.5 pounds tomatillos, husks removed and scrubbed clean (choose firm tomatillos whose husks are still tightly wrapped around them).

Roast for 15-20 minutes, keeping a close eye on them. Remove them when they are getting soft and brown in spots. Place the poblanos in a paper bag to steam and place the tomatillos in a large sauce pan. Once the poblanos have steamed, remove the clear skin that should have come loose. Cut open to scrape out the seeds and remove the stem, then place in the pan with the tomatillos.  Using an immersion blender, puree the tomatillo mixture. I like to leave it a little chunky but you can decide the consistency that you prefer.  Add to the pan:

  • juice from 2 limes (about 1/3 cup)
  • 1/3 cup tequila
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 Tbsp. cider vinegar (preferably unfiltered)

Heat over medium heat and cook, stirring frequently, to thicken the sauce.

In the meantime, pre-heat a gas grill. Remove the flank steak from the marinade, then sprinkle on both sides with kosher salt and freshly-ground pepper. Grill over medium-high heat for 6-minutes per side for medium rare. Remove to a plate, cover with foil and let stand for at least 5 minutes to allow the juices to settle before serving with the tomatillo sauce.

This entry was posted in Bison, Flank Steak, Latin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

