Pasta with Arugula and Tomato Sauce

I’m running a half-marathon tomorrow morning, so I’m focusing on my carbs today.  I’m also getting ready for Thanksgiving, so I didn’t want to make anything too fussy or that required a trip to the store. Thus, lunch today depended on what I had on-hand. Fortunately, I received a beautiful bunch of arugula in my CSA veggie-box yesterday and decided to finally try it in my pasta.

This was unbelievably quick. I started the sauce when I put water on to boil, and then just dished it up as soon as the pasta and arugula were done cooking. It took less than 30 minutes from start to finish. As usual, I used brown-rice pasta (fettucini) but this would work with whatever kind of pasta you prefer. I used canned whole San Marzano tomatoes (organic) – before adding them to the onions and garlic. I ran a large knife through the contents of the can a few times so that they were very roughly chopped. There were no tricks or anything unusual – just a satisfying healthy high-carb meal.

For the pasta, bring a large pot of water to a boil, then add pasta and cook according to package directions. About 3 or 4 minutes before the pasta is done cooking, add:

  • 3-6 ounces of roughly chopped arugula (depending on who much pasta you plan to use. I’d suggest close to equal proportions of arugula and pasta, but you might want to use less arugula the first time you make it).

When the pasta and arugula are done cooking, drain well and set aside if the sauce is not yet done.

In the meantime, prepare the sauce. Heat in a large skillet over medium heat:

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil

When the oil is shimmering, add to pan:

  • 3-4 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
  • 1 onion cut in medium dice

Cook stirring frequently several minutes until the onion is starting to become tender. Then add:

  • 1 28-ounce can San Marzano tomatoes (preferably organic), chopped a bit in the can before adding
  • 1/4 cup red wine
  • salt to taste
  • pinch of red pepper flakes (if desired)

Cook over medium heat for 15-20 minutes, or until the past is done cooking. Combine and serve.

This entry was posted in Pasta, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pasta with Arugula and Tomato Sauce

  1. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

