Honey-Rum Peach Sauce

Not much beats a ripe Georgia peach. I eat them plain, grill them (terrific when topped with plain greek yogurt and a little honey), use them in barbecue sauce and salsas. Tonight I had some peaches that were just-about too ripe, so I decided to cook them up into a delicious desert sauce. I served the sauce over ice cream (Breyers Simply Five is my latest favorite), but it would also be great with pound cake, angel food cake, French toast, crepes – I could go on and on.

I peeled the peaches, but that is optional. You can use a sharp paring knife or blanch the peaches to loosen the skin. I opted not to blanch them since my peaches were pretty soft and I was afraid of what dropping them into boiling water would do. Instead I used a serrated vegetable peeler – the serrated edge is perfect for peeling delicate fruit such as peaches and tomatoes.

In a medium saucepan, combine:

  • 1 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup honey (preferably local)
  • 2 Tbsp. light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup rum (I love Sailor Jerry’s spiced rum – it smells like vanilla and spices and is wonderful; however, you can use whatever you have on hand. If I didn’t have Sailor Jerry’s around I would probably opt for a dark rum rather than another variety of spiced rum. I like Goslings dark rum, which tastes great and is a lot less expensive than Meyers dark rum)
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla

Heat over medium heat, stirring constantly, until the honey and brown sugar are dissolved.  Continue to simmer for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently. This will cook off some of the alcohol and also thicken the sauce a bit. Stir in:

  • 3-4 ripe peaches, cut into 1-inch pieces, tossed in about 1 Tbsp. lemon juice

Continue to cook over medium-low heat until the peaches are warmed through. This is best with very ripe peaches, but if your peaches are a little firm you can cook them longer so that they soften.

Serve it over ice cream or anything else that sounds good.

This entry was posted in Desert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

