Firefly Sweet-Tea Peach Popsicles

My friends seemed to like the idea of an adult popsicle, but I know that they don’t all like bourbon – and for better or worse my ginger peach bourbon popsicles have a strong bourbon flavor. One of my friends (thank, Jessica!) mentioned that she’s made something similar, but also included tea in the mixture both for the flavor and added caffeine. While I didn’t go that route, it did remind me of Firefly Sweet Tea flavored vodka, which is a favorite of several friends. It seemed like a straight-forward idea to substitute this in place of the bourbon in my popsicles.

Because the tea vodka is already pretty sweet, I used less honey in this batch (1/3 cup compared with 1/2 cup when I used bourbon).  I also decided to skip the ginger and add just a little more lemon juice (3 Tbsp. instead of 2). Finally, because the Firefly vodka has a lower alcohol content (30% compared with 50% in my bourbon), and a less assertive flavor I used just a little more vodka (3/4 cup compared with 2/3 cup of bourbon). As with my other recipe, the amount of alcohol was based on having about 4 cups of liquid before adding the alcohol – you should adjust the amount of liquor depending on the final volume of your peach mixture to be sure that they freeze properly. Of course, the alcohol can be omitted or reduced depending on how you like the flavor.

The flavor of the peaches really comes through. These are tart, and while you can taste the tea flavor it’s not overpowering. It should be a nice alternative for the party tomorrow.

In a food processor or blender puree:

  • 4-5 ripe peaches, pit removed (but skin left on) – puree enough to have about 2 cups of pureed peaches.

Transfer to a bowl and stir in:

  • 2 peaches, roughly chopped (you can peel them if you like – I didn’t)
  • 3 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup sweet tea vodka (preferably Firefly – I’ve tried other brands and none of them are as good as Firefly).  Up to 20% of the volume can come from alcohol (possibly more since Firefly has a lower alcohol content than other liquors). As noted above, this is based on having about 4 cups of peach mixture before adding the Firefly.

Pour or spoon into popsicle molds or paper dixie cups. Freeze for about 2 hours, until they are thick enough to hold a popsicle stick upright. Continue to freeze until firm.

I used 3-ounce dixie cups and wound up with 17 popsicles.

This entry was posted in Cocktail and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Firefly Sweet-Tea Peach Popsicles

  1. Debbie says:

    Who doesn’t like bourbon? I have no idea which one you were feeding me yesterday, but I liked them all.

  2. xxx tube says:

    Nice subject great exececution on your site

Leave a Reply

