Ginger Peach Bourbon Popsicles

I received a dozen beautiful ripe peaches in this week’s veggie box – on top of the peaches I purchased over the weekend at a local farmers’ market. With that many fresh peaches on-hand I was reminded of a recipe I saw recently (thanks, Debbie, for finding it) for a grown-up popsicle: peach honey chamomile popsicles that were made with (optional) bourbon. I love peaches and bourbon (remember my recipe for peach bourbon barbecue sauce?), so I’d been keeping this recipe in mind for the July 4 weekend pool party I always attend. (Note: I’m the group bartender/mixologist, so I expect I’ll be posting more cocktail recipes throughout the week and weekend.)

I had intended to follow the recipe as written, but I just couldn’t get my mind around the chamomile tea leaves that the recipe called for.  Instead I turned to one of my favorite flavor combinations: ginger and peaches.  You could certainly use freshly grated ginger in this recipe.  However, I’m fortunate to be able to buy fresh ginger juice (which is literally just juiced ginger – nothing else) from Arden’s Garden, a local juice shop, and used that. In some cocktails, I’d be wary of the texture of grated ginger – but here it would be just fine: these popsicles include pureed peaches (including their skin) and chunks of peaches so the ginger texture wouldn’t stand out at all.

The original recipe calls for just a couple of tablespoons of bourbon, but does say that they will freeze as long as less than 20% of the liquid comes from alcohol. Since I’m taking these to a party, I made them full-strength – about 2/3 cup bourbon added to almost 4 cups of peach mixture. Granted, I’m partial to bourbon, but I think they taste fantastic.

I don’t own popsicle molds, and don’t see myself investing in any, so I just used 3-ounce dixie cups. Once they had frozen fully, I tore away the cup and tried it out. The hardest part will be staying away from them until Sunday – I have some more peaches left, so I might just have to make more.

In a food processor or blender puree:

  • 4-5 ripe peaches, pit removed (but skin left on) – puree enough to have about 2 cups of pureed peaches.

Transfer to a bowl and stir in:

  • 2 peaches, roughly chopped (you can peel them if you like – I didn’t)
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh ginger juice (or grated ginger)
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup honey (I used about 1/2 cup) – preferably local. You can probably get away with less if you use less bourbon.
  • good-quality bourbon (I like Knob Creek) – up to 20% of the volume can come from alcohol. When I was done I had about 4 cups of peach mixture, so I added about 2/3 cup bourbon.

Pour or spoon into popsicle molds or paper dixie cups. Freeze for about 2 hours, until they are thick enough to hold a popsicle stick upright. Continue to freeze until firm.

I used 3-ounce dixie cups and wound up with 15 popsicles.

This entry was posted in Cocktail and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ginger Peach Bourbon Popsicles

  1. Pingback: Firefly Sweet-Tea Peach Popsicles | susanlaury

  2. Pingback: Hot Apple Cider with Bourbon and Ginger | susanlaury

  3. Pingback: Bourbon popsicles: Three summer cocktails on a stick | Baltimore Post-ExaminerBaltimore Post-Examiner

Leave a Reply

