Ginger Kir

I drank my first Kir when I was travelled to France years ago. I loved the combination of dry white wine and cassis. What I loved even more was having an answer when a French waiter would approach and ask me if I would like an “aperitif.” I had no idea what cocktails qualified, and so I always felt so – well  – American – when I had no idea what to say. Once I’d tried a kir, I had a handy answer: “un kir, s’il vous plait.”

As I’ve mentioned in a couple of previous posts, I recently discovered Domaine de Canton, a wonderful ginger-flavored liquer.  I thought it would be fun to try a new, simple cocktail for Easter brunch. Using Domaine de Canton instead of the usual Cassis seemed like it would make a lighter, more refreshing take on the kir. The liquer itself is pretty sweet, so I didn’t use too much of it. The ginger taste in my kir is subtle, but it has a nice sweetness. You can try adding more, but I think that would wind up to sweet and sticky. Either way, you have a nice two-ingredient not-too-strong cocktail. Perfect for brunch. Or for an “aperitif.”

Combine in a wine glass:

  • 1 ounce Domaine de Cantan
  • 5 ounces dry white wine (I used sauvignon blanc)


This entry was posted in Cocktail and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

