Spiked Shandy

One of my favorite local restaurants is Rosebud – owned by fabulous chef Ron Eyester (aka The Angry Chef).  Ron’s latest venture is The Family Dog, a pub across the street from Rosebud.  The last time I was there I tried a new cocktail, the “Spiked Shandy” – draft IPA, rye whiskey, and ginger beer.  One sip and I was sold. This is officially my new summer cocktail. So of course, I had to figure out my version of it.

I like bourbon (remember my hot toddy?), and by the time I got around to figuring out how to replicate this, I’d forgotten their version used rye. I did pay attention when they poured my drink (the pint glass was 2/3 or so full of IPA, a shot of liquor, and topped off with ginger beer), but what follows is my best guess. Of course, as I tried some combinations I adjusted it to suit my taste.  It’s a cocktail, not a souffle, so you should feel free to adjust anything according to what you like.

That said, here’s my version of a Spiked Shandy:

  • 1 bottle (12-oz.) IPA – I buy Sweetwater IPA, a local brewery
  • 1-oz good quality bourbon – I like Knob Creek
  • 3-oz ginger beer – I used Reed’s Extra Ginger Brew, which I found at Trader Joe’s

Gently stir (unless you want to taste ginger-spiked bourbon for your first few sips, then IPA after).

This entry was posted in Cocktail and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

