Mixed Salad with Balsamic-Soy-Blue Cheese Dressing

Today’s lunchtime salad included one of my favorite combinations: balsamic vinegar and soy sauce. When I roast asparagus, I just drizzle over it about equal parts of soy sauce and balsamic vinegar, toss and bake. So today when I made a blue-cheese vinaigrette dressing and it seemed to be missing something, I turned to soy sauce.  The salad itself is my usual “kitchen sink” salad – I tossed in whatever I had on hand. It’s one of the things I enjoy most about fixing a salad – it can be as simple as lettuce tossed with a bit of dressing, or filled with an assortment of vegetables, grains, seafood, and meat.

For the dressing, I combined in a small bowl:

  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce or tamari
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp. mustard (I used home-made spicy course grained mustard)
  • tsp. honey (preferably local)
  • 1 ounce blue cheese or gorgonzola

I made more dressing that I planned to use so that I have some on-hand the next few days.

For this salad, I combined in a large bowl:

  • mixture of local greens (red leaf lettuce, arugula, and frisee)
  • cooked wheat berries
  • cooked edamame
  • sliced radishes (I used a large radish from my local farmer – it looks like a China Rose radish – about 1 inch in diameter and about 6 inches long)
  • chopped tomatoes
  • steamed shrimp
This entry was posted in salad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

