Ginger Toddy

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted any new recipes.  Allergy season kicked in hard, and then I wound up with a virus on top of it. I didn’t feel like eating for almost a week, and have been getting caught up ever since. I was cooking last week, so I hope to get some of my recipes posted over the next few days. The one up-side to having been sick is that I ran across a terrific recipe for a hot toddy.

Whenever I have a cold, cough, and sore throat I crave a hot toddy. The problem is that most recipes leave something to be desired, at least as far as being tasty. Since I was running a fever, I looked for a recipe that included ginger (which is also supposed to help treat congestion). I wound up discovering a few recipes that included a new (to me) ginger liquer. Domaine de Conton is a nice, sweet ginger-flavored liquer made with cognac.  The recipe I found online used ginger liquer, bourbon, lemon juice, honey, and hot water. I stuck with the basic recipe, but added a little fresh ginger for extra kick. If you prefer a more subtle flavor you can omit the fresh ginger. On the other hand, a friend made a version for her husband with fresh ginger (skipping the liquer).

I made this by putting in a mug:

  • 1 ounce good-quality bourbon (I used Knob Creek)
  • 1/2 ounce ginger liquer (I used Domaine de Canton – I have no idea whether there are other brands, but I suspect there are)
  • 1 Tbsp. honey (preferably local)
  • 2 tsp. freshly-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly-grated ginger
  • Hot water to fill the mug

I figure this has everything you need for a cold and allergies: ginger for fever and congestion, local honey for allergies, Vitamin C from the lemon, hot water for the soothing warmth and steam, and bourbon because it tastes good and makes me mind being sick less. I’m not sure what did it, but after a couple of mugs I felt MUCH better!

This entry was posted in Cocktail and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ginger Toddy

  1. Love this recipe! We are obsessed with Canton in our house so I will plan to make this recipe soon. Oddly enough, I wish it wasn’t such a gorgeous day in Boston so I could run home after work and make a hot toddy!

  2. Boy that sounds good. Glad, you’re feeling better. Love your header photo. We have some of those old jars too, and we keep beans in them.:)

    • susanlaury says:

      I love my mason jars, and keep buying more – I use them for beans, grains, raisins, leftovers, you name it! Anything I can pop in the dishwasher makes me happy.

  3. drinksociety says:

    Man that looks absolutely fantastic.

  4. susanlaury says:

    Thanks for the nice comments – it’s nice to be back in business!

  5. Pingback: Spiked Shandy | susanlaury

  6. Pingback: Hot Apple Cider with Bourbon and Ginger | susanlaury

Leave a Reply

