Tossed Salad with Beer Honey-Mustard Dressing

One of my favorite casual restaurants is my neighborhood pub, Hobnob.  It has good food, I like the staff, and a nice selection of beer and infused liquors.  One of my favorite things on their menu is a “Base Salad” – greens, apples, pecan-crusted goat cheese, cranberries and other ingredients, topped with their signature dressing that they describe as a maple-beer dressing. I have no idea what’s in the dressing, or even what it tastes like on its own since I only have it served on my salad. But that said, I decided I’d try to create my own version of their salad.

For the dressing, I whisked together in a small bowl:

  • 1 Tbsp. coarse-grained mustard
  • 1 tsp. dry mustard (I like Coleman’s)
  • pinch salt
  • 2 tsp. honey
  • 1 Tbsp. cider vinegar (preferably unfiltered)
  • 2 Tbsp. beer

The amount of dry mustard can be adjusted according to your taste.  As I made it, there was a bit of bite from the mustard, which I like.

Next combine in a large bowl:

  • salad greens (I used red and green leaf lettuce, frissee, and radish greens)
  • carrots, diced
  • apple (peeled and cored), diced
  • sunflower seeds
  • crumbled goat cheese
  • dried cranberries

Toss the salad with the prepared dressing, then serve on plates.

This entry was posted in salad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

