Pork Tenderloin with Mushroom Goat Cheese Sauce

It’s been a busy week or so, and I haven’t spent much time in the kitchen. What little I’ve cooked has been things I’ve made before. I was also camping for a few days, and really don’t cook then – I rely on others to do the cooking and I reciprocate with cocktails. (I should update my blog with a couple of my favorite drink recipes.)

After my time off, I’ve been craving some healthy food (at least healthier than I’ve been eating). So as not to shock my system, I included butter and goat cheese in tonight’s dinner – though not so much of either that I feel very guilty about my meal. When I’m in the mood for meat, one of my favorites is pork tenderloin – nice and lean, but also very satisfying.  Just 3 or 4 ounces is enough to fill me up, especially when it’s paired with a relatively-rich mushroom, white wine, goat cheese sauce.

To round out my meal, I fixed two sides from my weekly CSA vegetable box: sweet-potato wedges and rapini. A while back I spotted a recipe for sweet potato wedges with thyme and goat cheese on eatandrelish.com.  (The photography on this site is beautiful, too – almost every recipe I see there looks wonderful. I think I need a better camera and some lessons.) I’d forgotten the details when I started fixing dinner, but I remembered that Cory (the blogger) finished the wedges off with two of my favorite ingredients: honey and goat cheese.  This seemed the perfect companion to the pork tenderloin. I made a few changes, but the recipe doesn’t stray too far from what I remembered of the original.

Despite the number of ingredients – and the fact that I fixed a main dish with two sides – I was able to fix dinner using just two pans (one a non-stick skillet), making cleanup a breeze.  Maybe I’m starting to learn something about organization and timing in the kitchen. Maybe.

Pork Tenderloin with Mushroom Goat Cheese Sauce

Place in a heavy-bottomed skillet:

  • 1 Tbsp. butter

Melt over medium-high heat until foaming, then add:

  • 10-ounces baby bella mushrooms (small mushrooms cut in half, larger mushrooms quartered).

Continue to cook, until mushrooms have released most of their juices.  Transfer the mushrooms (and any accumulated juices) to a small bowl and set aside.  Wipe the pan with a dry paper towel and add:

  • 1 tsp. olive oil

When the oil is shimmering add to the pan:

  • 1 pork tenderloin (about 3/4 or 1 pound), cut into 1-inch thick slices, sprinkled with kosher salt and freshly-ground pepper

Cook over medium heat for at least 3-4 minutes (so that it browns) before turning each piece over. Continue to cook (turning once more if needed) until each piece reaches an internal temperature of 140-degrees. (The pork will continue to cook after it is removed from the heat.) Transfer pork to a plate and cover with foil.

Add to the pan:

  • 1/4 cup white wine (I use sauvignon blanc)

Simmer, scraping up bits of pork with a wooden spoon. Add:

  • 3/4 cup chicken stock (or broth)

Continue to simmer until this has reduced slightly, then add:

  • 2 oz. goat cheese

Whisk in the goat cheese until the sauce is smooth, then simmer over medium heat until the sauce has reduced and thickened slightly.  Return the mushrooms and any juices to the pan, stir and cook until the mushrooms are warmed, then return the pork tenderloin and any juice to the pan, simmering just until the pork is warmed.

If desire, top with a few crumbles of goat cheese when serving.

Sweet Potato Wedges

While the mushrooms are cooking, pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.  Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Spray with cooking spray.  Add to the pan:

  • 1 sweet potato, cut into 1/2-inch wedges, tossed in about 1 tsp. of olive oil (or sprayed with olive oil if you have a mister)

Cook, tossing frequently and being careful not to burn, over medium heat until just starting to get tender.  Transfer wedges to a foil-lined 8-inch square baking dish and place in pre-heated oven. Bake in the oven while the rapini cooks (see below), until the wedges are tender when pierced with a fork. Once the rapini is done cooking, wipe out the nonstick skillet, return the wedges to the skillet and place over medium-low heat.

Add:

  • 1 or 2 squeezes of honey (preferably local) over the wedges – use according to your taste

Toss to coat the wedges, and continue to cook for several minutes stirring frequently and being careful not to burn the honey. Remove from the skillet, and serve with crumbled goat cheese.

Rapini

After removing the sweet potato wedges from the nonstick skillet, add:

  • 1 bunch rapini stems (leaves and florets reserved), cut into 1-inch pieces. The larger stems should be cut into smaller pieces.
  • 1 tsp. salt (to taste)

Cook stems for 2-3 minutes, then add a pinch of red pepper flakes if desired. Continue to cook for another minute or two, then add to the pan:

  • 1/4 cup white wine

Cook, stirring frequently and adding more wine if needed so that the pan does not get too dry, for about 10-minutes until the stems are starting to get tender.  Then add to the pan:

  • reserved rapini leaves and florets

Continue to cook for another 2 or 3 minutes until the leaves are just wilted. Serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pork Tenderloin with Mushroom Goat Cheese Sauce

  1. The mushroom goat cheese sauce sounds excellent, even if substituted with chicken or beef.

  2. Debbie says:

    “if you have a mister”. . .

    • susanlaury says:

      Perhaps I should have said “If you have a birthday coming up and are lucky enough to have a friend give you a Misto olive-oil sprayer …” Thanks, Debbie!

Leave a Reply

