Pasta Salad with Tomatoes, Basil, Avocado, and Balsamic

I’m going to run my first half-marathon in almost 10 years this Sunday. While I’ve enjoyed training for it, this week I’ve discovered my real reward for all of the hard work and miles that I’ve put into my training: Carb Loading.   My trainer has even given his blessing for me to make macaroni and cheese – one of my favorite comfort foods that I haven’t prepared in about 6 months.  (Yes, the recipe will be posted here, probably tomorrow.)

Last night I tried a new stir-fry dish with brown-rice noodles.  The noodles were fine, but the sauce wasn’t my favorite, and certainly not worth writing up. However, I made more spaghetti than I needed, so I decided to use the leftover (which I just stored in a zip-lock sandwich bag) to throw together a quick pasta salad for lunch today.  I’m often not satisfied with my own pasta salads, but this one turned out just the way I liked it – fresh, and not too heavy. Since the pasta was already cooked, this took me less than 10 minutes to make.

Place in a large bowl (proportions are entirely up to you):

  • cooked pasta (I used brown-rice spaghetti) – since I had cooked mine the night before, I drizzled about 1 tsp. of olive oil on top and tossed it in. This separated the noodles nicely.
  • campari tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • fresh basil (I love basil, and used quite a bit) – I like to stack several leaves on top of one another, roll to make a cylinder and then thinly slice them.
  • ripe avocado, diced
  • fresh lime juice, squeezed over the avocado (I used less than 1/2 of a lime for 1/2 of an avocado)
  • goat cheese, crumbled
  • good quality balsamic vinegar, drizzled on top

Toss the salad well, and serve. It was really delicious.

This entry was posted in Pasta, salad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pasta Salad with Tomatoes, Basil, Avocado, and Balsamic

  1. Looks really delicious, even if it is healthy. Have fun with the mac.

  2. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Recipe Chefs –

    http://recipechefs.wordpress.com

  3. susanlaury says:

    Thanks – I will – I love reading what others are up to in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

