Tropical Black Bean Salad

I’ve been really good about making my dinner preparations from Thursday and Friday night pay off for me. I used leftover mango salsa and tomatillo sauce for shrimp tacos, then used guacamole from the shrimp tacos in my “BLTG” (bacon, lettuce, tomato, and guacamole) sandwich.  Today, I decided to use the last of my mango salsa in a very simple (and colorful) salad. I used canned black beans, cooked wheat berries that I had stored in my freezer, leftover mango salsa, and a roasted sweet potato that came from my local farmer. I added some lemon juice just to perk this up a bit.

The only prep I had to do was to roast the sweet potato, which I did by pre-heating the oven to 425, then peeling and cubing the sweet potato into about 1-inch cubes. I tossed the cubes in about 1 teaspoon of olive oil, then spread on a foil-lined baking sheet (the foil just makes cleanup easy). They baked for about 15-25 minutes (I’m never precise about cutting up the cubes evenly, so some take less time than others), until they were tender when pierced with a fork.

For the salad I combined in a large bowl:

  • 1 can black beans (preferably unsalted and organic), rinsed very well and drained well (or dried on paper towels).
  • 1 cup cooked wheat berries
  • 1 cup mango salsa (the recipe is in the link above, but I’ve also included it below)
  • 1 roasted sweet potato
  • juice of one lemon

If you can, allow this to sit for at least an hour to allow the beans and wheat berries to absorb the juice from the salsa and lemon. Just before serving, top each serving with:

  • freshly-squeezed lime juice (optional)

I’ll probably just serve this with lime wedges so people can choose whether to use the extra lime juice or not.

Mango Salsa

Combine in a bowl:

  • 1 ripe mango, peeled and diced
  • 1 red onion, finely diced
  • 1 jalapeno, most of the seeds and ribs removed, diced very fine (optional)
  • 1/3 cup juice from lemons, limes, or a combination (I started with lime juice when I made this last night, but ran out of limes, so I used lemons for the rest)
  • 1 bunch of cilantro, roughly chopped (I use stems and all – use more or less according to your taste)
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • honey to taste (if your mangos are very ripe, you may not need much – if any – honey; my mango wasn’t as ripe as I prefer, so I used two big squeezes of local honey)

Stir, and allow to sit for at least 1 hour (preferably overnight) to allow the flavors to develop and combine.

This entry was posted in Black Beans, salad, wheat berries and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tropical Black Bean Salad

  1. This looks really tasty. I love using up all pf my leftovers too!

  2. Pingback: How To Prepare California Shark Taco Cones Whit Mango Salsa – With Step By Step Directions | Gourmet Foods For Folk's who enjoy Food!

Leave a Reply

