Tequila-Lime Shrimp Tacos with Assorted Toppings

Last night I made roasted chicken with tomatillo-poblano sauce again. I wanted to change things up a bit, so I also made mango salsa to go with it. I think both the poblano sauce and the salsa are a little better the second day when the flavors have had a good chance to meld. I made plenty of both, so I decided to make shrimp tacos for dinner tonight. Since this is a pretty quick meal, I made some additional toppings: guacamole, a lime-chipotle sauce (made with low-fat, plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream), roasted poblanos, grilled green onions (from my CSA veggie box), and some greens from my veggie box (escarole and frisee).

It sounds like a lot, but really didn’t take that much time – I put together the various toppings while the shrimp was marinating (I used a tequila-based marinade similar to the one I used when I made steak tacos a while back). Since I was using a grill-pan for the shrimp, I used it to grill the green onions and also to roast the poblano. The poblano takes a little while to roast on the grill pan (longer than in the oven), so I kept it in the pan while I was preparing the guacamole and the lime-chipotle sauce. By the time these were done, I was ready to cook the shrimp. Five minutes later (give or take) the tacos were ready to assemble.

I used warmed, sprouted corn tortillas from Whole Foods, and filled them the following (I didn’t put all of the toppings in every taco – I used an assortment in each):

  • Grilled tequila-lime shrimp (recipe below)
  • Roasted tomatillo-poblano sauce
  • Mango salsa (recipe below)
  • Guacamole (recipe below)
  • Lime-chipotle sauce (recipe below)
  • Grilled green onions
  • Grilled roasted poblanos
  • Roughly-chopped frisee and escarole

Tequila-Lime Shrimp

Combine in a medium bowl:

  • Juice from 2 limes (I wound up with about 3 Tbsp.)
  • 1/4 cup good-quality tequila (preferably 100% agave tequila)
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
  • 1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined (I prefer larger shrimp, but 21-30 was on sale, so that’s what I bought today)

Toss the shrimp periodically to be sure it all has a chance to be in the marinade. When ready, heat a grill pan (or your grill) over medium-high heat. Working in batches so you don’t over-crowd the pan and cause the shrimp to steam, add shrimp to the pan, cook for 1-2 minutes and turn. Cook until cooked through. (The time will depend on the size of your shrimp – mine took less than 5 minutes.)

Mango Salsa

Combine in a bowl:

  • 1 ripe mango, peeled and diced
  • 1 red onion, finely diced
  • 1 jalapeno, most of the seeds and ribs removed, diced very fine (optional)
  • 1/3 cup juice from lemons, limes, or a combination (I started with lime juice when I made this last night, but ran out of limes, so I used lemons for the rest)
  • 1 bunch of cilantro, roughly chopped (I use stems and all – use more or less according to your taste)
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • honey to taste (if your mangos are very ripe, you may not need much – if any – honey; my mango wasn’t as ripe as I prefer, so I used two big squeezes of local honey)

Stir, and allow to sit for at least 1 hour (preferably overnight) to allow the flavors to develop and combine.

Guacamole

I don’t do anything very fancy when I make guacamole – I want the flavor of avocado to shine through. I’d be tempted to just use fresh avocado on my tacos, except that I probably would’t use it all and the juice in the guacamole helps it to keep longer (in my opinion).

Combine in a bowl:

  • 1 ripe avocado (flesh scooped from the skin and pit removed), mashed with a fork
  • juice of 1 lemon (or lime, if you prefer)
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • hot-sauce to taste (optional)

Mix together with a fork until it has reached your desired consistency (I like mine to be a little bit chunky).

Lime-Chipotle Sauce

I like to use plain low-fat (or non-fat) greek yogurt in place of sour cream anytime I can. In a sauce filled with other flavorful ingredients, yogurt is one of my favorite ingredients.

In a bowl combine:

  • 1/2 cup plain, low-fat (or non-fat) greek yogurt
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chipotle chili powder (this results in a pretty spicy sauce – you can use less, or use regular chili powder, if you won’t want something spicy)

Stir to combine



This entry was posted in Greens, Latin, salsa, Shrimp, Tomatillos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

