Winter Greens Salad with Fig-Citrus Vinaigrette

One of my latest food-related revelations is that fresh salads aren’t just a summer-time pleasure.  I’ve received a lot of greens in my local CSA veggie box over the past few weeks, and that’s encouraged me to put together a lot of different combinations of fruits and vegetables (and dressings) for almost daily salads. I find them most satisfying when I combine multiple flavors and textures. In this case, I have nice fresh local greens, crisp apples, and softer pears and beets; sweetness (from the beets and pears), tartness (from the pink lady apples), and salty (from crumbled feta).  The dressing combines both sweet (fig vinegar) and tart (fresh lemon and lime juice).

For the salad, combine in a bowl:

  • mixture of local greens (I used red leaf lettuce, winter spinach, frisee, and chicory)
  • 1 tart apple, peeled and cored, cut as desired (I used a pink lady apple, then cut it into think matchsticks) – toss the apple in the juice of one lemon to prevent browning. Reserve the lemon juice for the dressing.
  • 1 ripe pear, peeled and cored, cut as desired (I used a Bartlett pear, cut into small bite-sized pieces)
  • 1 steamed beet, peeled and cut into bit-sized pieces
  • crumbled feta cheese

For the dressing, whisk together:

  • 1/2 cup fig-infused vinegar (I use Alessi brand, which I can find at my local Publix)
  • juice from 1 lime
  • juice from 1 lemon (reserved from tossing the apple)
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
This entry was posted in Beets, salad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

