Local Green Salad with Balsamic-Cider Vinaigrette

I received my vegetable box yesterday, and found it filled with greens.  The nice change of pace was that there was only one bag of braising greens, and the rest will be perfect in salads (leaf lettuce, frisee, chicory, spinach, and the like).  It’s amazing how much better freshly-picked greens from your local farmer taste than the ones you buy at the store.

Today’s salad is so simple and straight-forward, I almost didn’t write it up. But I’m not always satisfied with my choice of dressing, and this time my vinaigrette turned out just right (not too sweet, and not too acidic), and complemented the salad so well I decided I should keep a record of it.

In a large bowl combine:

  • Mix of greens (I used red and green leaf lettuce, frisee, and chicory)
  • Campari tomatoes (wonderfully sweet and flavorful, even in the middle of winter)
  • Fresh basil, torn into small pieces (I was surprised how much the flavor of the basil came through, even though I used some greens with strong flavors)
  • Handful of wheat berries (optional, but they add good protein and make the salad more substantial)
  • goat cheese, broken into small pieces

For the dressing, combine:

  • 4 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar (preferably unfiltered)
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil

Pour the dressing over the salad, and toss to combine.  Simple, it was a nice, satisfying lunch.


This entry was posted in salad, wheat berries and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

