Rangpur White Lady

I’m not sure why, but my first thought when I see a recipe is usually something along the lines of  “that sounds great – I wonder how it would taste if I did THIS instead.”  I guess I was never one to color within the lines either.  In any case, that was what I thought when I ran across a recipe for a new (to me) cocktail called the White Lady. It was a martini-type cocktail made from gin, cointreau, and fresh lemon juice.

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned, one of my creative outlets is creating new cocktails for my friends. So when I saw this the first thing that came to mind (aside from “is it 5 o’clock yet?”) was Tanquerary Rangpur Gin. I discovered this a couple of years back – it’s distilled with rangpur limes (which are actually not limes – they are a cross between a mandarin orange and a lemon, but have a nice lime flavor), and has become my favorite for gin and tonics (I also love rangpur gin and bitter lemon).

I’ve been awfully well-behaved lately, and since it’s (a) spring break, (b) after 5pm, and (c) I keep getting texts about tornado warnings, I decided it was high-time I try out a new cocktail. I made only modest changes to the original recipe, namely: I substituted rangpur gin, and used Patron Citronage instead of Cointreau (much more affordable, and I think it works really well in cocktails). After tasting it, I decided to add 1 tsp. of sugar syrup for a modestly sweeter drink – it’s not a sweet cocktail by any stretch, but this made it more to my taste.

Fill a cocktail shaker with ice and add:

  • 2 oz. (4 Tbsp.) Tanqueray Rangpur gin
  • 1/2 oz (1 Tbsp.) Patron Citronage or other orange liquor
  • 1/2 oz (1 Tbsp.) freshly-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. sugar syrup (optional)

Shake, and strain into a martini glass. (I love my stainless steel martini glasses – you can store them in the freezer so they are nicely chilled and you don’t have to worry about breaking them.)

This entry was posted in Cocktail and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rangpur White Lady

  1. DRC says:

    I had found the recipe for the white lady recently and made it at home with cointreau and regular gin. I was telling a local bar tender about it and he made me one with the rangpur. Great. He used 1oz cointreau, half lemon’s juice and 2 oz of rangpur.

Leave a Reply

