Creamy Coleslaw

I received a small head of cabbage in my vegetable box last week, and the first thing that came to mind was coleslaw (Ms. Originality, I know). The problem is, I was raised on sweet, creamy coleslaw. If you’ve ever tried Marzetti slaw dressing you know just what I’m talking about. My grandmother used to make her own slaw dressing until she found Marzetti’s, and has used it ever since. I never noticed when she switched from homemade to store bought because it tasted just the same.

This isn’t really a problem, except that I’m trying to eat more homemade food, and avoid things that are seriously high in fat, with lots of additives, and refined sugar (or artificial sweeteners, for that matter). Without any creative ideas for what else I might do with the cabbage (I’m not a fan of the smell of cooked cabbage, and didn’t want to risk stinking up my kitchen to tackle a new recipe I wasn’t sure I would like), I decided to tinker with a healthier sweet, creamy dressing.

I’ll admit that I didn’t get very creative with the slaw itself – just basic cabbage.  I usually like to add at least carrots, but I didn’t have any around the house.  Radishes would be good, too. For the dressing I used low-fat (2%) plain greek yogurt, cider vinegar and honey to sweeten it.  I also added spices (caraway seeds, and thyme – these can be changed according to your taste), and a little green tabasco for just a bit of a kick.

For the dressing, combine in a small bowl:

  • 1/2 cup plain low-fat greek yogurt
  • 3 Tbsp. honey (preferably local)
  • 3 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar (preferably unfiltered)
  • 1/2 tsp. caraway seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp. green tabasco sauce

Pour over thinly sliced cabbage, allow to sit for at least 15-30 minutes to wilt the cabbage and allow the flavors to meld.

This entry was posted in salad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

