Three Minute Salad

I love it when I can turn leftovers into a really nutritions meal. I love it even more when the meal takes me less than five minutes to prepare. I was running late for work, but wanted to put together a nice salad to snack on between my classes this afternoon.  If I don’t bring something with me I inevitably head toward a street full of take-out Chinese shops where my healthiest fast option is a Quiznos sandwich shop. (Not that there aren’t healthy choices there – it’s just that my favorite items aren’t their healthiest.)

I dug through my freezer for leftover wheat berries (hey – it’s not a satisfying salad for me if it doesn’t have a handful of wheat berries tossed in), and was pleased with what I found:

  • wheat berries
  • quinoa (I try to always have cooked wheat berries and cooked quinoa in my freezer)
  • edamame
  • roasted beets and parsnips (leftover from a night I’d started to make wheat berries with roasted root vegetables, but had stopped after roasting the beets and parsnips – I wasn’t sure how they’d keep but I put them in a ziploc bag in the freezer just in case.  Good thinking on my part!)

I defrosted each of these containers slightly – just enough so that I could separate the contents – and put random amounts into a bowl.  Given that I was using edamame, I decided on a soy vinaigrette dressing. For this, I whisked together:

  • 4 Tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce (I used low sodium)
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. dry mustard (I like Coleman’s)
  • 1/2 tsp. agave nectar

That’s it – I tossed the salad with the dressing (given the amount I made, I had leftover dressing – this isn’t unusual for me), transferred the salad to a mason jar and left for work. By this afternoon, everything had defrosted and I had a satisfying late lunch/snack to tide me over until I could get home and make dinner. I can’t wait to have it again.

This entry was posted in Beets, Quinoa, salad, wheat berries and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

