Mixed Fruit Smoothie

One of my first posts was a breakfast smoothie based on one in the ChefMD’s Big Book of Culinary Medicine.  Nutrition can seem intimidating, but John La Puma’s approach (he’s the ChefMD) is very straightforward.  One particularly useful tip I’ve learned from his book, blog, and website is that the color of food can clue you in to its nutrients, and that making sure that you eat whole foods in a variety of colors helps to ensure you get more nutrients.

With this in mind, I decided to mix up a breakfast smoothie, based on the one I made earlier, but with some extra fruit mixed in.

Place in a blender:

  • 3/4 cup low-fat milk (or soy milk)
  • 1/4 cup plain, nonfat yogurt (I used Greek-style yogurt)
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen (uncooked) cranberries (I always buy extra bags around Thanksgiving and put them in my freezer)
  • 1 orange (seedless is easier)
  • 1 heaping Tbsp. ground flax seeds
  • 1 tsp. honey (optional – I have allergies, so I like to use local honey)
  • several ice-cubes, depending on how thick you want your smoothie to be

Blend until smooth, then serve.  This made one large serving – the amount pictured in the glass is a full batch of this.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

