Spinach Salad with Wheat Berries and Blueberries

I found a big (24-oz) box of blueberries on sale at the grocery store this week, and couldn’t resist buying it – so now it’s time to think about what I’m going to do with all of those berries before they go bad.  I’ll use them in smoothies and on cereal. I’ll do my best to resist buying ice cream to go with them.

Today I came home for lunch and decided to put together a nice salad using ingredients that I have on-hand, including a few that need to be used soon – an open bottle of pomegranate juice (leftover from my New Year’s cocktail), an open bag of baby spinach, radishes, cooked wheat berries that I’ve stored in the freezer. In the end I wound up with a pretty salad, with protein and anti-oxidants – delicious, too.

For the dressing, I combined:

  • 3 Tbsp. pomegranate juice
  • 3 Tbsp. white wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • pinch of salt

Depending on the size of salad you’re making this may be more dressing than you need.

Then I just put in a bowl an assortment of ingredients that sounded good together:

  • baby spinach
  • wheat berries (mine were cooked and in the freezer, so I just thawed a big handful very briefly in the microwave)
  • thinly sliced radishes
  • fresh blueberries
  • freshly-ground pepper

I tossed it with the dressing, and had lunch ready in less than 5 minutes.

This entry was posted in salad, wheat berries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinach Salad with Wheat Berries and Blueberries

  1. jlitzka says:

    Delicious and nutritious!

Leave a Reply

