Shrimp with Two Salsas

I’m going out of town again tomorrow, so I wanted to use up some of the produce that I have at home.  Looking through my fridge and cupboards, I found clementines, cilantro, jicama, campari tomatoes, jalapeno’s, onions, and tomatillos. I decided to buy some shrimp (cooked, peeled, tail-on shrimp was on sale, so I went with the lazy route), and put together a couple of salsas to serve with it.  I added a side-dish of steamed spinach to round out the meal.

I decided to make two different salsas because I like both sweet fruit salsa, and also more traditional salsa made with a tomato base and lots of vinegar, onion, and cilantro. I decided to use cider vinegar in the tomato salsa, but went with white balsamic for the sweet salsa – I love it’s sweet vinegary flavor. Either salsa would also be great served with any type of broiled or grilled fish.

To start, I pre-heated my oven to 425 degrees, then roasted on a foil-lined (rimmed) baking sheet:

  • 6 tomatillos, husk removed and skin scrubbed to remove any sticky residue
  • 2 jalapeno peppers

Turn these occasionally, and keep a close eye on them. Remove them from the oven when their skin is dark in places and they start to get soft. You’ll have to remove the jalapenos before the tomatillos. Allow to cool before handling them.

Orange-Tomatillo Salsa

In a medium bowl combine:

  • 5 clementines, segments separated and cut in half
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 6 roasted tomatillos, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup jicama – peeled and diced
  • 2 Tbsp white balsamic vinegar
  • 1 roasted jalapeno, seeds and ribs removed, cut into a small dice
  • squeeze of honey (this should be adjusted to taste, according the sweetness of the tomatillos)
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, roughly chopped
  • 1 tsp salt (adjust to taste)

Tomato Salsa

In a medium bowl combine:

  • 1 pound ripe campari tomatoes
  • 1 cup diced red onion
  • 4 Tbsp cider vinegar (preferably unfiltered)
  • 1 roasted jalapeno, seeds and ribs removed, cut into a small dice
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, roughly chopped
  • 2 tsp salt (adjust to taste)


This entry was posted in salsa, Seafood, Shrimp and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

