New Year’s Celebration

One of my favorite hobbies is creating and mixing cocktails for my friends.  When New Year’s Eve rolled around, I started looking around for a new recipe that I could work with. A couple of my friends were fighting colds, so when I spotted a pomegranate martini recipe I figured this would be a great New Year’s cocktail. I loved the idea of an anti-oxidant rich cocktail.

As usual, I played a little with the original recipe – it was a bit strong and tart for my taste, so I added some water,  and increased the sugar and orange liquor just a bit.  And because I was making a pitcher and didn’t want to have to squeeze a ton of limes (but still wanted fresh juice), I substituted lemon juice which I could buy fresh at a local juice bar (Arden’s Garden). This is also where I bought the fresh ginger juice for the martinis.

Fill a pitcher with:

  • 2 1/4 cups pomegranate juice
  • 2 1/4 cups vodka
  • 1 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1 cup orange-flavored liquor (I like Patron Cintronge – tastes a lot like Grand Marnier, but is a lot less expensive)
  • 1/4 cup fresh ginger juice
  • 4 Tbsp. sugar

To make individual drinks – shake in a cocktail shaker with ice, and serve in a sugar-rimmed martini glass.

This entry was posted in Cocktail, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

