A Little Taste of Summer

I was spoiled by fresh produce this summer, and have missed eating ripe tomatoes the most.  I was at the grocery store the other day and noticed a box of campari tomatoes that claimed to be as sweet and ripe as what you get in the summer.  I decided to give them a try.

I’m really impressed by then – while nothing will measure up to the tomatoes that come out of my friends’ gardens, they’re the best winter tomato that I’ve had.  I also have an indoor basil plant that needed trimming back so I decided to treat myself to a summer-like salad today for lunch.

I just put on my plate:

  • 5 campari tomatoes, quartered
  • fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 3 ciliegine fresh mozzarella balls (each is about the size of a cherry-tomato; I found it at whole foods)

Then I sprinkled this with:

  • sea salt
  • freshly-ground pepper
  • aged balsamic vinegar

What a treat on the first day of winter!

This entry was posted in salad, tomatoes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

