Breakfast with the Chef MD

I’ve been really enjoying the ChefMD’s Big Book of Culinary Medicine – it provides a lot of good information on nutrition, and how to combine foods for maximum health benefits.  Its focus is on whole foods, and making gradual changes to your lifestyle that will help you to accomplish your goals. (You can read more about John La Puma – aka ChefMD – at http://www.chefmd.com).

This morning I made a quick and filling orange breakfast smoothy from his book.

In a blender combine:

  • 1/2 tsp grated orange peel
  • 1 large orange, peeled and quartered
  • 1 c. 1% milk (or soy milk, or whatever ….)
  • 1 Tbsp. ground flax meal (flax seed is another one of my favorite random ingredients – I always have it around)
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 heaping tsp of dark honey

Blend for about 1 minute until this is smooth, then add 2 ice cubes and blend until the ice is crushed.

By the way – the book calls the above recipe 1.5 servings, and it did fill me up.

Last week, I made another one of his breakfast recipes: Warm Cinnamon Quinoa Cereal.

To make this, combine in a small sauce-pan:

  • 1 cup 1% milk (or whatever you have around)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup quinoa (I buy mine in bulk at Whole Foods)

Bring this to a boil, then cover and reduce heat enough so that it slowly simmers. (Be careful – the first time I tried this it boiled over!) Let it simmer for about 15 minutes – most of the liquid should be absorbed by then. Turn off the heat and let it sit for another 5 minutes.  Stir in:

  • 2 cups fresh blackberries (I used organic frozen and it turned out great)
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 4 tsp agave nectar (you can substitute honey or omit)

The recipe also calls for 1/3 cups of toasted chopped pecans – but I’m not a huge nut-lover so I skipped them.

I’ve made this twice now – I always make 1/4 of the recipe for myself. Next time I’ll try a bigger batch and see how it keeps in the fridge and reheats.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Quinoa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breakfast with the Chef MD

  1. Hi, Susan…thanks for trying my recipes and the nice words about my ChefMD book.

    The quinoa recipe has been adapted a lot on the web: yours is the 15th version of it I’ve found, which is marvelous: this whole thing was kicked off by Heidi at 101Cookbooks: her recipe and photo is here: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/warm-and-nutty-cinnamon-quinoa-recipe.html

    Happy holidays!
    John La Puma
    http://drjohnlapuma.com

  2. susanlaury says:

    Thanks for your comment – I’m sure this won’t be the last of your recipes that I highlight.
    I really like Heidi’s site – I didn’t realize that she had posted your quinoa recipe, but in my post yesterday I linked to her wheat berry breakfast bowl recipe.

  3. Whoa! You did a amazing job. You should write regularly!

Leave a Reply

