Shrimp, Orzo, and Tomatoes, with Feta

Last night I made this old favorite recipe of mine.  It started with a recipe from Gourmet magazine, but I’ve also tweaked it a little. It comes together pretty quickly – at least by my ridiculously slow cooking standards

I started by cooking a pound of orzo, following the package directions, but stopped cooking and drained when it was still somewhat firm.  Save 1/2 cup or so of the cooking liquid. Stir about 1 Tbsp of olive oil into the cooked orzo to keep it from sticking together.

Next, I heated 1 Tbsp olive oil in a 4.5 quart pot until it was shimmering, then added:

  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 6 garlic cloves, chopped (I like garlic, and don’t have enough patience for mincing)
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
Onions, etc.

You can see how chunky I leave the garlic.

I cooked this for 3 or 4 minutes (the onion was getting a little soft), then added:

  • 1/2 cup dry white wine (I was drinking a glass of sauvingon blanc, so that’s what I used).

I simmered this for several more minutes, then stirred in:

  • 2 14-oz cans of fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 14-oz can diced tomatoes
  • Salt (a teaspon or so? I never measure)

The original recipe calls for regular crushed tomatoes – but I’m a big fan of fire-roasted tomatoes, and also like the texture of diced tomatoes.  So this is up to you.  At this point, you continue cooking at a rapid simmer for another 8-10 minutes.  Then stire in:

  • 1.5 pounds shrimp, peeled and deveined (I bought 31/40 count shrimp – I left the tail on but probably would remove the tail next time).

Cook for another 3-4 minutes, or however long it takes until the shrimp are just barely cooked through.

Shrimp and tomato  sauce

Next, stir in the reserved cooking liquid from the orzo and the orzo.

Finally, I spooned half of this orzo mixture into a big lasagna pan (a little bigger than my 9×13 inch baking dish), topped with about 8-oz of crumbled feta (I used reduced-fat feta, but that’s optional), added the rest of the orzo mixture, then topped with another 8-oz of the crumbled feta.

Next time, I’ll probably reduce the amount of feta (I didn’t eat all of the feta that wound up on my plate), but other than the cheese it’s a pretty healthy dish.

Now, you just have to bake it (uncovered) in a 425-degree oven for 10-15 minutes until the feta starts to brown and everything is heated clear through.

Shrimp, orzo, and feta

The finished Dish.

This entry was posted in Pasta, Seafood, Shrimp and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

